Baby #70: Part 1

Lucas POV

This is so stupid. I can’t believe that mom is making me do this. Just because I punched one kid on the playground doesn’t mean that I’m crazy. It was one kid. It wasn’t even like he bled or anything. Just a black eye. He was being stupid anyway.

Since I’m being forced to do this, I might as well explain why. I’m a freak.

A monster.

A vampire.

The whole town knows it, and the whole town fears it. Despite mom raising us strictly on plasma fruit, everyone in town still thinks we are going to devour them. Having to go to school in a town where everyone hates you is even worse. There isn’t a day where I don’t have to fight to stand up for myself or deal with being the outcast.

Mom thinks I get into fights because I’m acting out for not having my father around. She doesn’t understand I’m just trying to survive. That’s why she is making me write: to get out my feelings.

[image]

I have two sisters. You would think that would make life easier but it doesn’t.

[image]

There is my sister Leanna.

[image]

And then there is my sister, Lauryn. She’s just plain crazy.

[image]

[image]

My sisters spend every waking moment together. Whether it’s talking in their stupid secret language that no one can understand or playing with their dolls, they are always together.  They even claim that they have the same dreams. If I didn’t know any better, I would think they shared one brain.

[image]

[image]

I always knew that my sisters hated me, but I never imagined that they would try to turn the rest of our siblings against me too. But somehow they managed to do just that. Lindsay and Logan had always been nice enough to me – not really friends, but they would at least talk to me unlike my sisters. Then all of a sudden, Lindsay started spending all this time with my sisters and speaking to me less. The more time she spent with them, the more nervous she became around me and suddenly she stopped talking to me all together.

Her behavior didn’t make any sense at first. The longer I thought about it, the more I knew why she was acting this way, and it was because my sisters had said something to terrify her about me.

[image]

Worst of all, they have taken the new tree house hostage. I spent weeks trying to convince mom to turn one of the trees in the backyard into a tree house. She knows how much I love the outdoors and since I’m a half-vampire, I don’t get to enjoy being outside during the day like normal kids. Finally she caved and surprised me with it after we went to spend the weekend with dad.

Have I gotten to play in the tree house? Of course not and all because of my obnoxious sisters.

[image]

[image]

[image]

Once again, I find myself standing under the tree house late at night while the rest of my family slept unable to climb up. My blood was boiling. I was sick of watching them play in the one thing that should have been mine. I was tired of them ignoring me and leaving me out. I wasn’t going to put up with it anymore. Tonight, I was going to get into MY tree house.

 “Lauryn, this isn’t funny. Let me up right now or I’m going to tell mom.” I shouted half hoping mom would hear me from her bedroom window.

[image]

Lauryn appeared in the tree house window with a smile on her face. “Alright, alright you big cry baby. No need to get mom involved. Give me a second.”

[image]

Finally, my sister had come to her senses. I was going to get to see the inside of the tree house at last.

Moments later, Lauryn reappeared in the window, but the ladder still hadn’t dropped to allow me access. I was about to ask what the holdup was when out of nowhere I was drenched in what I can only imagine was icy cold water.

[image]

[image]

At first I was too stunned to move. I just stood there soaking wet from head to toe. As a vampire, I couldn’t feel what the temperature of the water was, but it still was a surprise. Soon the shock faded and I felt tears building up. No, I wasn’t going to give her the satisfaction. I would never let that manipulative, evil bitch know how miserable she made me feel.

 As I turned and ran back to the house, I heard her say, “That’s for threatening to tell mom.”

She knew I wouldn’t tell mom. I never told mom about all my sisters did to me behind her back. I never mentioned how lonely I felt or how much I wished I had never been born.

[image]

A monster like me would never be accepted. The entire school – heck most of the town – felt that we would creep into their houses at night and suck all their blood. We were rejects, but at least my sisters had each other. I had no one.

No one but Javier.

[image]

[image]

Javier really was my only friend. He always had to listen to me, and he could never talk back to me.

Well almost never.

“What? Hey don’t talk to me like that. I will throw you into the bottom of the pond if you aren’t nicer to me.”

[image]

***

Christy’s POV

Jade is growing bigger and bigger each day. She just learned to walk, and already she is running away from her momma. It is hard to believe that in just a few months she will be climbing onto the school bus for her first day of school. Before long, she will be too embarrassed to hang out with her uncool mother. I miss the days when all she wanted to do was snuggle.

[image]

[image]

Once I get Jade down for bed at night, Cole and I go outside and practice our martial arts. He has always been athletic and when he developed an interest Sim Fu, he asked if I would spare with him. At first, it was no problem beating him.

[image]

[image]

Cole has the dedication that Sim Fu requires to be truly good. Every night, he gets better and better. Now I’m lucky to be able to keep up with him, even though he is a lower belt than I am.

[image]

[image]

It had been a long time since I had last thrown a big party and seen my friends, so after discussing it with the C triplets and the L twins, we decided that a party would be a great way to celebrate their birthday.

I spent all morning at the grill trying to make the perfect meal to serve at the party. I might be a little rusty, but the grilled salmon turned out perfect.

[image]

[image]

[image]

Ashby arrived about an hour before the party was scheduled to begin to help me set everything up. We spent most of the time gossiping about our children and recent events in our lives.

[image]

[image]

 “Christy, I hope you don’t mind, but I invited a friend of mine to the party. She is a fellow challenge mom and I think you two would get along great.” Ashby stated minutes before the party was scheduled to begin.

“That’s great, Ashby. I love meeting other challenge moms.”

[image]

 “Come on,’ I heard Chantelle scream from over my shoulder as she rushed to where the birthday cakes were waiting.

“Let’s get this party started.” Cole added excitedly as he flexed his muscles trying to show off for a few of our guests.

All of the arriving guests gathered around the birthday cakes as the triplets aged into young adults. I don’t think anyone cheered harder than their father, Moon Lite and me.

[image]

[image]

[image]

[image]

Cole…

[image]

Connor…

[image]

Chantelle…

[image]

They grew up beautifully, don’t you think?

[image]

Violet arrived just as the twins were stepping up to their birthday cakes to age into teenagers.

[image]

Lindsay…

[image]

Logan…

[image]

While everyone continued to party outside, I made my way inside to get some ice cream from the fridge. I stopped when I noticed someone I had never seen before. Ashby had followed me inside and introduced me to her friend.

“Oh good, you are finally here. Charity, this is Alina Taylor. The friend I was telling you about.”

“It’s nice to meet you, Alina. I am so glad that you could make it to the party. Ashby tells me that you are doing the 100 baby challenge?”

[image]

I felt guilty starting this new friendship off on a lie. I felt guilty that Ashby had to lie on my behalf to protect my identity. I would be happy when I no longer had to lie to anyone. Would this woman still want to be my friend when she found out the truth?

Wait, why am I thinking of this now?

I glance back at Alina as she gives me a knowing look. A look like she knew exactly what I was thinking about. Was she using her vampire powers to read my mind?

[image]

“Actually I recently stopped my challenge after having twenty-five beautiful children.” Alina stated.

After we got to know one another a little better, Alina asked if I had anyone in mind for the next father for my challenge. When I said that I hadn’t, Alina told me that she had a son who had been wanting to participate in a challenge for a little while and asked if I was interested.

“As long as you wouldn’t find the whole situation awkward, I would love for your son to participate.”

[image]

One thought on “Baby #70: Part 1

  1. Loved this chapter I have been missing the Quinn’s so much. OMG I so love Ashby in that hair, and that she is still in your story. Lindsay aged so beautiful and the C Triplets are….OMG…. Cole especially. LOL

    I hope we get more soon.

    Jen AKA Ashby

Leave a Reply

