Mini-Update: Michael’s Story

Michael’s POV

My name is Michael Quinn. That’s me on the far left in case you are wondering. I am the 40th child of Christy Quinn, and this is my little family. Of course, I have more siblings, but these are the only ones that I have ever really got the chance to know. As you can see, I don’t really look like any of my brothers and sisters.

Despite our very diverse looks and personalities, Mom makes sure that we are a really close knit, loving family by always encouraging us to do various activities together, but it can still be a bit lonely. By that I mean, all of the siblings that I’ve gotten the chance to spend time with have had a twin – or were born in a set of triplets. Someone that they are connected with for the rest of their life, and despite how close I am with my two older brothers, John and Jason, I will never really be able to have that bond.

My siblings also have a really close bond with their fathers. John and Jason were able to visit their dad for years before he had to move out of town due to his job. They still receive frequent phone calls from their dad. Even Suri and Heimdall get to visit their dad and spend time with him, but I have been forbidden to even talk with my dad.

Mom says that she is only doing it for my best interest and tries to make me forget, but it’s not something that can be easily forgotten.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom. I would never wish to have another. She sacrifices so much of her time for all of her children and makes it so we never have to worry about anything. Like with my newest two siblings, she has been working with them day and night to make sure they know everything they need to know before starting school.

When my brother Heimdall started to show an interest in cooking, she supported him by helping him set up a table outside of the house in order for him to sell his baked goods to our neighbors. When no one wanted to buy from a small child, Mom went out and bought everything that Heimdall had baked that day in order to spare his feelings.

When Suri and I started to express an interest in writing, mom was right there with us. She was supportive of our ideas and willing to help out anyway she could. Regardless of how off the wall and random Suri’s ideas could be, mom was never once judgmental or negative towards her. She said she had a feeling that one of Jack Skellington’s children would end up being a writer.

Another reason why I love my mom is because she won’t allow anyone to speak badly about her children. Just last week, the Grinch (father of Odin and Yasmina) came into our backyard without permission and started to make fun of Jason for absolutely no reason. I don’t understand why anyone would want to make fun of Jason, but The Grinch is just a really nasty person in general.

He thought it was funny to make fun of Jason for his fear of water and even threatened to push him in if he ever saw him near the local pool. Jason is not a confrontational person and so he tried to just walk away, hoping if he ignored the Grinch’s threats he would go away.

The Grinch followed Jason to the garden, but by this time, Mom had come outside to see what was going on. She heard The Grinch’s threats and was furious.

“Who in the hell do you think you are?” my mother shouted.

The Grinch replied with a smile on his face, “Oh come on, it was just a joke.”

“No,” my mother interrupted. “I don’t want to hear it. How dare you threaten my child! I want you to get off my property right this second and if you ever come back, I will make sure you spend the night in the Sunset Valley jail.”

As the Grinch left, I could see not only anger but disappointment written on my mother’s face. My mom is the type of person that believes there is good in everyone, and despite what the Grinch has done, she was still hoping to find some sort of kindness in the Grinch. After the Grinch left Odin outside on the hospital sidewalk when he was first born and now with him picking on Jason for no reason, I’m not sure my Mom believes that the Grinch is anything more then a spiteful, vindictive man.

Like mom was with me, she is determined to make sure that the Grinch twins don’t turn out like their father. I think that’s why she spends so much of her time with them, making sure they know how loved and special they are.

“Anyone who looks that cute in a bunny costume can’t possibly be evil!” Mom would always tell the twins.

As protective as Mom is with the Grinch twins, I don’t think she has ever been more protective of any of her others children then she was with me. As a toddler, I was rarely allowed out of my mother’s sight unless it was to sleep. I think she believed my father would sneak into the house and steal me away to corrupt me into doing his evil bidding or something.

As a child, I wasn’t allowed to go to school. I wasn’t allowed to leave the house. I was barely allowed to leave my mother’s side. I remember feeling so humiliated when the kids next door would ask me to come over and play, but I was never able to. That’s why I was so thankful for my brothers.

I don’t know if they talked to Mom, or if she started to realize how sheltered and lonely I was becoming, but whatever the case, I was allowed to start leaving the house more. As long as my brothers were with me, we could go anywhere in town. This is when I fell in love with fishing. The weekly fishing trips we started taking every weekend were something that I looked forward to all week long.

When I aged into a teenager, I was given even more freedom. Mom allowed me to go to school, and she allowed me to go to the fishing spots close to home. Although I could now go fishing on my own, Jason almost always went with me. Not to spy on me or anything, but just because he had grown so use to going.

With my growing up, it meant that my brothers would soon be leaving me. I tried not to think about it and enjoy the time that I had with them, but the day came all too quickly.

John…

Jason…

As Mom always does, she set my brothers down in the living room and discussed what they had planned for the future. John had been granted a once in a lifetime opportunity to intern at one of the world’s leading hospitals. He would be learning with the best of the best doctors, but it meant he had to leave town. Jason was going to leave town with John in order to learn more about plants, and what it would take to have a perfect garden.

I should have been happy for them, but I just couldn’t be. My jealousy and hurt just wouldn’t allow me to be happy for them. My brothers – my best friends – were abandoning me.

I took their leaving harder then I had expected, but a good thing came from their departure. It made me start thinking about what I needed to do. A few weeks after my brothers had moved out, I got on the bus like any other day for school.

When the bus came to a halt at the school, I waited for Suri and Heimdal to head inside, but I didn’t join them. Instead, I waited for everyone to go inside before just making a run for it.

I just continued running as quickly as I could until I found myself standing in front a small house. It didn’t look like much, but I knew I was at the right place. My heart began to beat faster in my chest the closer I got to the front door. Taking a deep breath so I didn’t lose my nerve, I raised my hand up and knocked on the door.

That’s when he answered the door. I couldn’t believe it was really him. I had been waiting my whole life to meet this man, and now, I couldn’t even bring myself to say anything to him.

I took another deep breath and asked him, “Are you the Grim Reaper?”

I knew it was him. We had the same hair color and the same facial structure. I knew this man was my father, but I needed him to confirm it. I needed to hear him say that he was who I had thought it was.

I had envisioned this moment so many times in my mind growing up. The first time my father and I met face to face. I had imagined he would pull me into a hug, tears of joy in his eyes when we were finally reunited. I imagined his first words would be how much he had missed me and how sorry he was for missing so much of my life.

Important life moments don’t always go as you imagine them because my father did none of this. Instead when he finally spoke, he sounded a bit angry with me. “You‘re not suppose to be here, Michael. You‘re mother wouldn‘t want you here.”

“I’m sorry, but I just wanted to see you. I wanted to get to know you. You’re my father! I deserve to know you.” I tried to hide my embarrassment. Maybe Mom had been right to protect me from this man. He obviously didn’t want anything to do with me. He couldn’t even spend a few seconds talking to me.

The Grim Reaper let out a heavy sigh before replying. “Yes, Michael, you do deserve to know your father, but your mother doesn’t think that I’m the best influence on you. I fear that my brothers’ negative interactions with your half-siblings is the reason why your mother doesn’t want me in your life. We must respect your mother’s wishes, Michael.”

His response had not been one that I had expected. He had stayed out of my life out of respect for my mother? When I questioned him more, he told me that his brothers had always been jealous that their father had chosen him to be the family’s “Grim Reaper” instead of Johnny or Chubby. Their jealousy had turned them evil, and soon the only thing they cared about was showing their father how wrong his decision had been.

They went out looking to make the most evil child they possibly could, but they didn’t understand that being a Reaper is not about being evil. You are tasked with helping sims enter the next life. They are confused, scared individuals – some are even vengeful depending on how they died – and a Reaper needs to be patient and understanding in order to help them move on.

“You have to tell Mom…” I interrupted. “She misunderstood your warning. She thinks you were threatening to turn me evil. You have to tell her she was wrong. Mom will understand and she‘ll let us spend time together.”

The Grim shook his head solemnly, and told me that he respected my mother. He always knew that it was better for her to raise me. As much as he has always wanted to be in my life, he didn’t want to go against my mother’s wishes and so he wouldn’t tell her. It fell on my shoulders to tell her.

When I left that afternoon, I knew that my father and I would be seeing each other again. We had already developed a really good friendship.

Mom was standing outside the house in her athletic clothes when I got home. She looked worried sick, and before I could even say anything, she hugged me tightly. “Michael, I was so worried about you. The school called and told me you didn’t show up for class. I searched all over town for you. I was so worried that something might have happened. Are you alright?”

I nodded. It would have been easy to lie to her about where I had been all day. If I had said, ‘I had spent the day fishing on the other side of town’ she would have believed it, but I couldn’t bring myself to lie to her. The guilt of causing her so much stress made me confess the whole story.

At first, Mom had been upset with me. Upset that I had skipped school, and even more so upset that I had gone to see my father when I knew she didn’t want me to. She understood where I was coming from though. Her father had walked out on her when she was a child and so she knew what it was like to want to get to know your father better.

A few weeks passed and I celebrated my young adult birthday. I knew I would be leaving soon, and I wanted to write this letter to my mom. I wanted her to know how much I love her, and that just because I’m going to live with my dad now, that doesn’t mean I love her any less. I have a job to do now.

My name is Michael Quinn, future Reaper of Sunset Valley.

