Baby #40

It seemed like no time at all before it was time to help Jason and John blow out their candles and watch them grow into toddlers.. I was amazed at how different they looked from one another, but at the same time, how similar their features were.

John had gotten his father’s skin tone, hair color, and red eyes but he had also gotten a majority – if not all – of my facial features.


Jason had also gotten his father’s red skin tone and hair color, but he got my light blue eyes. His eyes made him really stand out in my opinion. Although Jason got a majority of my facial features like his brother, he did get one feature from his father…his nose.

I also noticed how different the boy’s personalities could be. John was my little spit fire. He was constantly trying to make everyone in the house laugh with a goofy expression.

Jason – being the younger twin – would watch his brother’s behavior intently before mimicking him. I could already tell that Jason looked up to his twin very much, I just hope John would be able to influence his brother positively.

Before long, it was time for another birthday. This time Ruby and Joanna would be aging into young adults. Where does the time go?

Ruby…

Joanna…

As I held the camera up to take one last picture of my girls before they left, I couldn’t help smiling. They had grown into such beautiful young women. As different as they look and as different as their personalities are, I’m still not sure anyone would believe they were sisters, let alone twins.

Neither one of the girls was very excited about leaving and starting their own lives. Ruby insisted that she clean all the showers and sinks before leaving the house. She knew that I had my hands full with the boys and I might not be able to get around to it for days.

Jo – who was normally the loner of the house – spent her last few moments in the house saying goodbye to her younger siblings. She had the most trouble saying goodbye to Jason and John. They had only just gotten here and already she was having to leave them. In the short time they got to spend together, she had grown very attached to them.

Only hours after the girls left and my five reaper children had gone to school, I was already beginning to miss Ruby and Jo being around. Gardening felt so lonely without them here to help me each morning.

The boys had no problems keeping my attention off Ruby and Jo leaving. I still had the duty of teaching them all of their skills and that was enough to keep me busy, but look at John…how can one possibly stay sad with an adorable face staring back at you and trying to make you laugh?

Speaking of distractions, I got a very distressing call from my first child, Brian not long after Jo and Ruby had moved out. He and his long time on again, off again girlfriend Delilah had decided to call it quits for good. I knew that they had been having trouble ever since Brian had graduated high school two years earlier then Delilah had, but they always seemed to find their way back to each other. With the birth of their daughter Leilani, I was certain that they were finally on the right path for a long and happy future together.

I regret to say that a mother’s instinct is not always correct. Brian and Delilah are now involved in a heated custody hearing over Leilani. Because they were never married, Sunset Valley law states that full custody would go directly to Delilah – who wanted to move out of the country with Leilani and her new boyfriend. Brian would never see his daughter again if that happened so he was doing everything in his power to prove to the courts that he was a better primary caregiver.
****

I have also been looking into other baby challenge mothers that might be located in Sunset Valley. I was beginning to realize that there were more women taking on this challenge then I had originally realized. I’m sure I could have just asked Violet about them, but it was more fun to find them on my own. I could feel more accomplished this way. Today, I made my way over to the house of Leah Sierra.

Sierra? Why does that name sound so familiar?

After doing some research, I found out that Leah was only just beginning her challenge. She already had six children, and her eldest daughter, Primera was nice enough to allow me inside their beautiful home while I awaited their mothers return home.

“Oh my Gosh! Are you the REAL Christy Quinn?” Leah asked me when she returned home. I was a bit surprised by her excitement. Had she heard of me before? Only good things I hope…

I smiled back to her. “Yes I am, and you must be Leah Sierra. It’s a pleasure to meet you!”

Leah and I spoke for a little while, getting to know each other. She was really sweet. I even agreed to ask a few of my sons if any of them would be interested in participating in her challenge. That certainly seemed to excite her, and just as I was about to leave, Leah invited me to join her family for dinner. I knew my mom had things taken care of back at the house so I agreed – it would have been rude for me not to right?

After thanking Leah for a lovely meal, I made it back home where the triplets were eagerly awaiting to become teenagers.

Freddy…

Nancy…

Kristen…

As a child, Nancy had struggled with her weight issues. She was the most dedicated to sticking to the exercise program that the two of us came up with as a child. Now as teenager, she had reached her desired weight and was very happy with her body, but she was still just as dedicated as she had been as a child to maintaining her current size.

Her dedication made her a perfect fit for martial arts training, and she seemed to love it.

Unlike Nancy and Kristen, Freddy had never shown an interest in working out as a child despite always being an athletic child. Now that he was in high school, he became almost obsessed with exercising.

Anything from training with his older brother Elliot at the gym…

…to disappearing for late night jogs around town. I had a feeling there might be a reason behind his sudden interest in exercise – other then him wanting to look good for girls – but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it and he was always home before curfew so I didn’t push the issue.

As the days turned into weeks, I realized I still hadn’t found someone to participate in Leah’s challenge. I had called all of my single sons, and they all had been busy with other things in their lives. Then I remembered Andre…

You might remember that he and his twin brother, Alex, had gotten married to their high school girlfriends shortly after becoming young adults. Well Andre and his wife Destiny had been trying for a child for many years now with no success. So I decided to pitch my idea to them and see what they thought.

“Leah is a really sweet young woman who is attempting the same challenge that I am, Andre. But she’s having trouble finding her next father…I thought that since you and Destiny were having trouble conceiving…”

Destiny’s face dropped as I continued to explain my idea about Andre participating in Leah’s challenge. I hated that I had upset her, but this maybe the only chance for them to have a child.

Andre listened open-mindedly to everything that I had to say. He wasn’t sure he wanted to do this after all. Andre was concerned with hurting Destiny, but at the same time he really wanted a child of his own.

I gave them a few minutes alone to discuss the issue while I went upstairs to take care of the twins. It took a lot of convincing, but eventually Destiny agreed to let them try as long as Leah didn’t try to steal her husband away.

I called Leah only moments after Andre and Destiny left. I guess time had gotten away from me during our visit because when Leah answered the phone in a very angry manner, I realized that it was already after midnight. Oh boy, did I ever feel foolish! I immediately apologized for waking her up before letting her know that I had found a dad for her challenge.

I told her my son Andre would be coming over to her house the following day.

A couple of months passed and it was time for another birthday. Tiffany and Chucky would be joining their siblings as teenagers.

Tiffany…

Chucky…

With five active teenagers in the house, I had a home gym built for them. It is still a work in progress, but the kids really seemed to enjoy it. They would disappear down into the basement for hours.

Tiffany – like her older sister, Nancy – found that she really enjoyed martial arts. Although she wasn’t as dedicated as Nancy was, she was more athletic and before long, the two were at the same level so they could spar against one another.

Nancy became my helper around the house. She had decided she wanted to become an Astronaut and work in the military. I knew her brave and disciplined nature would make it no problem for her to achieve her dreams. She knew that she would need all the handiness she could get and took to work on upgrading the plumbing in the new basement right away.

The boys were often ignored by their older siblings so they were left to amuse themselves while I was tending to the other or taking care of my own needs.

***
Another letter came in from Brian today…apparently he lost his case because the courts didn’t think that the lifestyle of a musician was any type of lifestyle for a child to be raised in. I guess they overlooked that Delilah had been unable to get a job since before Leilani was born…sorry, I didn’t mean that…I’m just a little upset.

Anyway, the main reason for the letter was because Brian had been outside the city hall protesting their decision when a woman by the name of Calista Smith approached him asking if he knew anything about the 100 baby challenge.

Being my first son, of course he knew about the challenge. He agreed to be apart of Calista’s challenge and the baby is expected to arrive any day now. Despite the sadness from the first part of the letter, I’m very excited that my son will get a second chance to watch his child grow.

It was right after reading the letter that I noticed this man approaching my house…

At a quick glance, I just thought that time had gotten away from me again and it was Chucky coming home from school. But this wasn’t my baby…this man had red and black hair. He wore a suit and what I noticed the most was that his eyes were a deep dark red. With each step he took closer to me, I felt a deathly chill sweep over my body.

I knew who this was…this was the third Reaper brother. He was finally coming to collect on the promise I had made all those years ago.

He confirmed my fear right from the beginning by announcing that his name was Grim and he would like to participate in my challenge. I tried to hide my fear with a laugh.

“I expected you to arrive like your bother’s had…in your traditional Reaper robe”

He explained that he knew Johnny had scared me into participating before I had been ready for him, and he thought coming in a suit would put my mind at ease that he wasn’t here to harm me or my children. I lied saying that it did make me more comfortable talking to someone that I could actually see opposed to a robed figure, but he genuinely seemed to not want to frighten me.

I showed him upstairs, wanting to get this over with as quickly as possible. The sooner he was out of my house and away from my children, the better off we would be. But surprisingly after we had “done the deed” he hugged me and told me that this child wouldn’t turn out like the others.

I was confused…did that mean the baby I was now carrying would be evil and was destined to take over as the Grim Reaper? Not on my watch…this baby would be nothing like a Reaper and everything like a Quinn.

The Reaper kids had arrived home by this time and were doing their homework at the kitchen table. You would think that someone had been torturing them as much as they were complaining.

“Mom…do we really have to do this?” Kristen whined.

“I’m afraid so sweetheart…it’s just a part of life. In a few weeks you’ll be a young adult, holding down a job or raising children of your own, and you will wish that you could be back in school.”

“I doubt it…” Freddy added in.

As the kids continued to complain, I took John and Jason upstairs. John was ready for bed, but Jason was eager to learn so I spent a few minutes teaching him a few new words before putting him to bed as well.

After finally finishing her homework, Kristen disappeared outside to the telescope. She loved discovering new stars, but tonight she saw something fall from the sky. It was a meteor. I couldn’t believe how big it was when she brought it home to show the family.

Two days later, I was taking one of my weekend jogs around town when I ran into Leah at the park. She announced that she was pregnant and the baby was due any day now. I felt her stomach when the baby started kicking and wished Leah a safe delivery. I couldn’t wait to get to know my new grandchild.

When I returned home that night, I felt incredibly sick to my stomach. Before this moment, I had no previous morning sickness with this pregnancy, but now it felt twice as bad.

As my stomach continued to grow in size, I continued to teach the boys everything they would need to learn. My day was filled with spending time with them, and I couldn’t imagine anything better.

Freddy and Chucky began spending their all of their free time after school with their dad’s. The more time they seemed to spend with the Reaper brothers, the more their looks began to change.

Freddy now had tattoos all over his arms and two new piercing: one for his nose and one for his eyebrow. He barely even looked like the same chubby faced little boy that would make me laugh with his wild stories.

Chucky began dressing less daredevil like and more dark. He wore spiked wristbands that I tried to tell him might hurt John and Jason, but he didn’t seem to care. He also had new piercing on his ears, but no visible tattoos.

I wish that I could say that I took an immediate notice of Freddie and Chucky’s sudden changes in appearance, but I didn’t. Between the youngest set of twins and all the back pain this pregnancy came with, I was completely ignorant to the changes going on around me.

The boys would sneak out after I had gone to bed. I’m not sure where they would go or what they would do while they were out there, but the police would usually catch them around 2 am and bring them home. You can’t imagine how ashamed I was when that police officer would give me a lecture about keeping a better eye on my children.

To make matters worse, Tiffany started hanging out with them more. She would disappear late at night as well and the next morning I would find a car parked in our driveway that hadn‘t been there before. They were always a little beaten up – the door might be dented or the window might be smashed.

“Dad got it for me, isn’t it great” Tiffany would tell me, but I wasn’t stupid. I knew her father hadn’t gotten it for her. I just didn’t want to believe that she had stolen it.

I would tell her that if she sent it back right away then she wouldn‘t get in any trouble, and the next day…the car would be gone.

Just when I thought I was at my wits end, it was time for the triplets to age into young adults.

Freddy…

Nancy…

Kristen…

I had been suffering from the back pain of this pregnancy for awhile when I finally had to break down and go to the spa for a massage.

When I returned home, I felt relaxed. More relaxed then I had in awhile until…

…I felt a sharp pain in my stomach. I wasn’t sure I would be able to get off the couch, but I managed. The labor was quick and there was no time to make it to a hospital.

Welcome to the world…Baby #40, Michael Quinn!

***

This chapter concludes the Halloween Edition, and I am so happy to have finally used all three of the Reapers so I can move on to something else. If you are unaware of the issues that I had aging up the Reaper kids for all these updates, check out my Facebook pictures. It was very annoying.

Anyway, Michael was named after Michael Myers from the Halloween series. Fitting that he wraps up our Halloween naming theme as well.

Credits: First off I would like to thank both Leah Sierra and Calista Smith for featuring the Quinn boys in their challenges. I was very pleased to see them in there and I hope it’s alright with both of you that I included some of pictures from your blog into my own. You can check out Leah’s blog here and Calista’s blog here

Also I would like to thank Rialia of the Sims 3 community for allowing me to use all three of his Reapers in my challenge. You can download his Grim Reaper here, however I did make several changes to the Grim Reaper I ended up using. I randomized his face about 6 times, changed his hair and eye color so his child might be different from the others. We shall see as he gets older.

Question for the Readers: What do you think about the Grim’s prediction about Michael? What do you think he meant when he said that Michael wouldn’t turn out like the others? Can/Should Christy trust him?

10 thoughts on “Baby #40

  1. Whoa! Christy, I really missed your update!!!
    Your pictures are stunning, your words are beautiful, and your story is just… well, GREAT! I really like Chucky and Freddy’s looks, they are so gorgeous! I can’t wait for more, and I really hope that your next update will come faster 😉
    Thank you so much for including me in this post. You even included our dialogues! xD And sorry, I didn’t know that your children were going to grow up when I invited you to dinner… I’m so glad that you weren’t late because of me 🙂
    Again, amazing post, as always, Christy! Two thumbs up!

  2. I only just stumbled across your blog a few days ago, but I was so hooked I read the whole thing in a couple of days! I love how you’ve taken the time to develop and engage readers in the lives & personalities of the kids as well as the mother. Some really interesting storylines you have going there. I can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  3. I love your blog 🙂 I haven’t said anything previously, but I’ve been reading for a while now 🙂 The halloween based stuff was cool!

  4. CHRISTY!!!!! Awesome post. I am off to read the next one. I can’t belive I am behind. I love your kids they are just stunning, but please stay cautious to the Grim.. He can not be trusted!!

    Your friend always
    Ashby Starr Bright

    • I don’t have just one specific site that I get my custom content from. I have gotten some from Mod the Sims, the Sims Resource, Poppy Sims, Lorandia Sims…it all just depends on what I’m looking for. They are tons of custom content sites out there

  5. I love the pictures you take and your house seems really well equiped for 100 children. I was wondering if you could post pictures of the houses newer layout? Oh and I love the reaper kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

